top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
166432343_3786136448166289_3638823873705974261_n.jpeg

STORY

THE BEAT
OF TIME

Histroy

In the 8th century, an evil ruler in Scandinavia drove the inhabitants to Iceland. When they fled, they took everything with them, including their horses. It is said that they only took their best and dearest horses with them on the run. Unfortunately, when they arrived in Iceland, they exploited all the resources that this small island had to offer, i.e. - soon the whole island was deforested. Therefore, everything must now be reforested. The horse also fell into this usage and was important for locomotion and work. However, it was highly valued and became a symbol in legends, rites and grave accompaniment.

In the year 1000, Christianity came to Iceland. Horse meat was no longer eaten and horses were no longer allowed to accompany graves. But there were still races and stallion fights as popular entertainment. In 1592 stallion fights were forbidden and the last fight took place in 1623.

In 1783 there was a terrible volcanic eruption with ash rain, which caused 70-80% of the horses to die. Only the strongest survived.
In 1840, people wanted these strong horses on the European continent for use in coal mines. Due to their appropriate size, the Icelandic horses performed their duties in the pits there together with Shetland horses.

 

In the 20th century, due to the economic upswing and the associated motorisation, horses became a leisure activity and a hobby. This was followed in 1909 by the law prohibiting the import of horses into Iceland to protect horses and breeding. In 1922 the first horse club "Fakur" was founded in Reykjavik, followed in 1950 by the first Landsmot.

In 1950, Ursula Bruhns in Germany called for the rescue of Iceland's battle foals. The associated simple form of husbandry and the sympathetic nature of the Icelandic horses triggered a real boom. Before the Icelandic horses, the cavalry in Europe was characterized by a very military and elitist style of riding. With the form of keeping in the open stable, which practically everyone could realize at home in the garden, Ursula Bruhns brought the horses closer to the people and created leisure riding. At that time the horses still came to Europe by ship, later by plane.

In 1956 the first Icelanders came to Zurich, Switzerland. From 1960 - 1980 around 500 Icelandic horses landed in Switzerland with 2 direct planes. That was a huge sensation at the time, which also interested the press. One of our pioneers, Eve Barmettler, was there live and provided us with great photos. Other pioneer families were Isenbügel, Maissen, Barandun, Indermaur and many more. It is a great privilege that our founders can still embody and tell the story.

In 1962 the Swiss Pony Club was founded, which is now the IPVCH. In 1969 the FEIF was founded with our Swiss representatives Max Indermaur and Ewald Isenbügel. At this time the first Swiss Championships took place in Einsiedeln. In 1970 the first European Championships took place in Aegidienberg with the Feldmann family. In 1991 the first World Cup took place in Sweden. In 1995, 2009 and 2025 the Icelandic Horse World Championships took place in Switzerland.

165856914_3786138188166115_6628645143196435443_n.jpeg

EXPERIENCE HOW THE

HISTORY CONTINUES

bottom of page

top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
166432343_3786136448166289_3638823873705974261_n.jpeg

GESCHICHTE

THE BEAT
OF TIME

Geschichte
des Islandpferdes

Im 8. Jahrhundert hat ein böser Herrscher in Skandinavien die Einwohner nach Island vertrieben.

Bei dieser Flucht nahmen sie alles mit - auch ihre Pferde. Man sagt, dass sie damals nur ihre besten und liebsten Pferde mit auf die Flucht genommen haben. In Island angekommen haben sie dann leider alle Ressourcen ausgenutzt, welche diese kleine Insel hergab, sprich - schon bald war die ganze Insel abgeholzt. Deshalb muss nun alles wieder aufgeforstet werden. Das Pferd fiel auch in diese Nutzung und war wichtig für die Fortbewegung und Arbeit. Dabei wurde es aber hoch geschätzt und wurde zum Symbol in Sagen, Riten und Grabbegleitung.

Im Jahr 1000 kam das Christentum nach Island. Man ass nun kein Pferdefleisch mehr und liess das Pferd nicht mehr als Grabbegleitung zu. Rennen und Hengstkämpfe gab es aber als Volksbelustigung immer noch. 1592 kam dann erst das Verbot zu Hengstkämpfen und der letzte Kampf fand 1623 statt.

1783 kam es zu einem schrecklichen Vulkanausbruch mit Ascheregen, welcher bedingte dass 70 - 80 % der Pferde starben. Es überlebten nur die stärksten.
Diese starken Pferde wollte man 1840 dann auch auf dem europäischen Kontinent für die Nutzung in Kohlengruben haben. Aufgrund ihrer geeigneten Grösse verrichteten die Islandpferde zusammen mit Shettys dort ihren Dienst in den Gruben.

 

Im 20. Jahrhundert wurde das Pferd durch den wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung und die damit verbundene Motorisierung zum Freizeitvergnügen und zur Liebhaberei. Darauf kam 1909 dann das Gesetz zum Verbot des Imports von Pferden nach Island zum Schutz der Pferde und der Zucht. 1922 entstand der erste Pferdeclub „Fakur“ in Reykjavik, darauf folgte 1950 das erste Landsmot.

1950 rief Ursula Bruns in Deutschland dazu auf, Islands Schlachtfohlen zu retten. Die damit verbundene einfache Haltungsform und das sympathische Gemüt der Islandpferde löste einen regelrechten Boom aus. Die Reiterei in Europa war vor den Islandpferden von einem sehr militärischen und elitären Reitstil geprägt. Mit der Haltungsform im Offenstall, den praktisch jeder Zuhause im Garten realisieren konnte, brachte Ursula Bruhns die Pferde näher an die Menschen und kreierte die Freizeitreiterei. Damals kamen die Pferde noch mit dem Schiff nach Europa, später dann mit dem Flugzeug.

1956 kamen die ersten Isländer in die Schweiz nach Zürich. Von 1960 - 1980 landeten rund 500 Islandpferde in der Schweiz mit 2 Direktflugzeugen. Das war damals eine riesige Sensation, welche auch die Presse interessierte. Eine von unseren Pionieren, Eve Barmettler, war live dabei und konnte uns die Fotos zur Verfügung stellen. Weitere Pionierfamilien waren Isenbügel, Maissen, Barandun, Indermaur und noch viele mehr. Es ist ein grosses Privileg, dass unsere Gründer die Geschichte noch verkörpern und davon erzählen können.

1962 wurde der Schweizer Ponyclub gegründet, welcher heute die IPVCH ist. 1969 wurde dann die FEIF gegründet mit unseren Schweizer Vertretern Max Indermaur und Ewald Isenbügel. Zu dieser Zeit fand auch die erste Schweizermeisterschaft in Einsiedeln statt. 1970 fand die erste Europameisterschaft in Aegidienberg bei der Familie Feldmann statt. 1991 fand die erste Weltmeisterschaft in Schweden statt. 1995, 2009 und 2025 fand und findet die Weltmeisterschaft der Islandpferde in der Schweiz statt.

165856914_3786138188166115_6628645143196435443_n.jpeg

ERLEBE WIE DIE

GESCHICHTE WEITER GEHT

bottom of page